» » Various - AK79

Various - AK79 album

Various - AK79 album
  • Performer Various
  • Title AK79
  • Date of release 1981
  • Country New Zealand
  • Style Punk
  • Other formats AU MPC MOD AHX APE FLAC VQF
  • Genre Rock
  • Size MP3 1979 mb
  • Size FLAC 1566 mb
  • Rating: 4.8
  • Votes: 662

AK79 is a compilation album of tracks by punk bands active in Auckland, New Zealand in the late 1970s. The album was compiled by Bryan Staff, with artwork from Terence Hogan, and was released by Ripper Records in December 1979. Bands featured on the original compilation include The Scavengers, The Swingers, The Primmers, Proud Scum, Toy Love and The Terrorways. An initial pressing of 500 was sold to a retailer. It was later reissued on LP and cassette via CBS, but deleted in 1982.

Matrix, Runout (Etched A): RPR 1-A 7242-700.

True Love - Marching Girls Version - Marching Girls. Listen to AK79 now. Listen to AK79 in full in the this site app. Play on this site.

10 more albums featuring this track. The Scavengers are best known for their punk nuggets 'Mysterex' and 'True Love' that featured on the punk compilation 'AK79'. Between 1977 and 1978 the Scavengers regularly perfomed at Auckland punk club Zwins in Durham Lane, and The Windsor Castle in Parnell.

Never Been to Borstal, 02:04. I Am a Rabbit, 01:49.


A1 The Scavengers Mysterex
A2 The Terrorways* Never Been To Borstal
A3 Proud Scum I Am A Rabbit
A4 The Scavengers True Love
A5 Proud Scum Suicide
A6 The Terrorways* She's A Mod
B1 The Swingers Certain Sound
B2 The Primmers* Funny Stories
B3 Toy Love Squeeze
B4 The Swingers Baby
B5 The Primmers* You're Gonna Get Done
B6 Toy Love Toy Love Song


  • Artwork By – Terence Hogan
  • Bass – Alistair Rabbit (tracks: A3, A5), Bones* (tracks: B1, B4), Chris Malloy* (tracks: B2, B5), Chris Orange (tracks: A2, A6), Paul Kean (tracks: B3, B6), Ronnie Recent (tracks: A1, A4)
  • Compiled By – Bryan Staff
  • Drums – Bruce Hulk (tracks: A3, A5), Buster Stiggs (tracks: B1, B4), Dave Bebb (tracks: B2, B5), Des Struction* (tracks: A1, A4), Gary Hunt (tracks: A2, A6), Mike Dooley (tracks: B3, B6)
  • Guitar – Alec Bathgate (tracks: B3, B6), Cliff Gravell* (tracks: B2, B5), Dean Martelli (tracks: A2, A6), John Atrocity (tracks: A3, A5), Johnny Volume (tracks: A1, A4), Peter Hoffman (tracks: A2, A6), Phil Judd (tracks: B1, B4)
  • Keyboards – Jane Walker (tracks: B3, B6), Miriam Ludbrook (tracks: B2, B5)
  • Vocals – Chris Knox (tracks: B3, B6), John No-one (tracks: A2, A6), Johnny Volume (tracks: A1, A4), Jonathan Jamrag (tracks: A3, A5), Karl Van Bergen* (tracks: B2, B5), Phil Judd (tracks: B1, B4), Ronnie Recent (tracks: A1, A4)


From the cover: "A collection of demo tapes recorded by various bands in Auckland city over a period of about one year, ending in late '79."

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
RPR 1 Various AK•79 ‎(LP, Album, RE) Ripper Records RPR 1 New Zealand 1980
FNMC 279, REV 503, C 31083 Various AK•79 ‎(Cass, Comp, RM) Flying Nun Records, Propeller, Propeller, Flying Nun Records FNMC 279, REV 503, C 31083 Australia & New Zealand 1993
RPR 1 Various AK•79 ‎(LP, Album, RP) Ripper Records RPR 1 New Zealand Unknown
RPR 1 Various AK•79 ‎(LP, Album) Ripper Records RPR 1 New Zealand 1979
RPR 1, AK 79 Various AK•79 ‎(LP, Album, RE + LP, Comp + Ltd, Unofficial) Ripper Records , Velvet Tiger RPR 1, AK 79 New Zealand 2008