» » Vinny Golia Large Ensemble - Decennium Dans Axlan

Vinny Golia Large Ensemble - Decennium Dans Axlan album

Vinny Golia Large Ensemble - Decennium Dans Axlan album
  • Performer Vinny Golia Large Ensemble
  • Title Decennium Dans Axlan
  • Date of release 1993
  • Style Contemporary Jazz
  • Other formats MPC DMF AC3 AUD VOC XM MP4
  • Genre Jazz
  • Size MP3 1819 mb
  • Size FLAC 1160 mb
  • Rating: 4.8
  • Votes: 399

The Vinny Golia Large Ensemble becomes even larger here, bumped up to 22 pieces on its fourth album - and the agenda remains as iconoclastic as ever, borrowing liberally form the classical avant-garde and owing little to what remains of a big band tradition. There is plenty of swinging, yet the solos are more often than not atonal; there are pauses in the action for freeform freakouts.

Tracklist: 1. Tapestry Of Things Before (22:12) 2. Frontback (19:10) 3. Mr. Justice (10:00) 4. Man In A Bottle (12:59)

Listen to music from The Vinny Golia Large Ensemble like Surrounded by Assassins, Heighten: Intro & more. Find the latest tracks, albums, and images from The Vinny Golia Large Ensemble. Featuring some of the most daring musicmakers in Los Angeles, the ensemble plays Golia's meticulously structured compositions laced with accompanied and unaccompanied solos and group improvisations. Performers include Jessica Catron, Brad Dutz, Bruce Fowler, John Fumo, David Johnson, Ronit Kirchman, Marc Lowenstein, Wayne Peet, William Roper, Sara Schoenbeck, and Kris Tiner.

1982 The Vinny Golia Large Ensemble. Compositions for Large Ensemble (Nine Winds). 1984 Wayne Peet/ Vinny Golia Duo. No Reverse (Nine Winds Records). Deeba Dah-Bwee (Nine Winds). 1984 Michael Vlatkovich. 9113 (Thankyou Records). Decennium Dans Axlan (Nine Winds). 1993 The Vinny Golia Quintet. Against the Grain (Nine Winds). 1993 Mark Harvey & Aardvark Jazz Orchestra. The Aardvark Steps Out (Nine Winds). 1993 Bertram Turetsky. Compositions and Improvisations (Nine Winds). 1994 The Vinny Golia Large Ensemble. Commemoration (Nine Winds).


1 Tapestry Of Things Before 22:12
2 Frontback 19:10
3 Mr. Justice 10:00
4 Man In A Bottle 13:00


  • Bass Trombone – Phil Teele
  • Cello – Jonathan Golove
  • Cello [Electric] – Dion Sorell
  • Chimes, Timpani, Vibraphone, Marimba – David Johnson
  • Clarinet [Bb], Bass Clarinet – David Ocker
  • Double Bass – Joel Hamilton , Ken Filiano
  • Drums, Percussion – Alex Cline
  • Flute [C], Flute [Alto], Soprano Saxophone, Tenor Saxophone – Bill Plake
  • Flute, Alto Saxophone – Steve Fowler
  • Keyboards, Piano – Wayne Peet
  • Marimba, Timpani, Bells [Orchestra], Percussion [Hand] – Brad Dutz
  • Piccolo Flute, Flute – Emily Hay
  • Piccolo Flute, Flute [Alto], Flute [Bass], Sopranino Saxophone, Soprano Saxophone, Baritone Saxophone, Bass Saxophone, Clarinet [Eb], Clarinet [A], Alto Clarinet, Contra-Alto Clarinet, Conductor – Vinny Golia
  • Trombone – George McMullen, Mike Vlatkovich*
  • Trombone, Conductor – Bruce Fowler
  • Trumpet, Flugelhorn – John Fumo, Mark Underwood, Rob Blakeslee
  • Tuba – William Roper
  • Violin – Jeff Gauthier


Recorded on Saturday, April 11, 1992 at the Gascon Institute in Culver City, CA